RuPay Card Phase 2 Released in Bhutan on Friday | World news

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Bhutan Prime Minister Lotay Tshering will be releasing Tier 2 of RuPay cards on Friday. In step 2, Bhutan cardholders will be able to access India’s RuPay network.

The government’s release said, “India and Bhutan share a special partnership based on mutual understanding and respect, reinforced by a shared cultural heritage and strong connections between people and people.”

Phase 1 of the card was released during our visit to Modi in August 2019. Step 1 of the RuPay card allows visitors to India to access ATMs and Point of Sale (POS) terminals throughout Bhutan.

RuPay is an Indian payment gateway like Visa or Mastercard and is gradually expanding to neighboring countries in India or countries with huge Indian diaspora. It was launched in Singapore in May 2018, followed by Bhutan and Maldives.

The UAE was the first Gulf States, followed by Bahrain and Saudi Arabia, and helped thousands of all Indian employees send money home. Other countries such as Myanmar and Australia are also working to adopt it.

Introduced in 2014, 600 million people use RuPay cards and it is a product of the Indian National Payments Company (NPCI).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: